The Rockies Are Hard|
But Liens Can Be Easy
CO Mechanics Lien
Let Zlien Prepare and File Your Mechanics Lien in Colorado
As a tradesman, you want to be paid for your efforts. Sometimes, the filing of a mechanics lien in Colorado is necessary, and filing a lien is one of the least desirable aspects of a contractor’s duties. Few enjoy taking the time needed to complete the lien correctly, or study the laws needed to do so. But this can be costly for you. Improperly preparing or filing of a mechanics lien can often cost the tradesman the opportunity for payment in full for their work. On some occasions, fail to properly record the lien or give proper notice may mean the contractor will not be paid at all.
This is where Zlien can help. We specialize in preparing mechanics lien colorado, and will make sure they are filed properly. All you need to do is provide us the information needed, and we take care of the rest. We will file the lien with the correct offices, and send notice to those required under Colorado law.
Our information intake system is set up for your convenience, requiring minimal time and effort on your part. This leaves you more time to do what you do best, practice your trade and operate your business.
A mechanics lien colorado requires specific requirements to be valid. Courts in Colorado require strict compliance with the applicable statutes for the mechanics lien to be valid and enforceable. A Colorado mechanics lien must have a properly completed and executed Notice of Intent to Claim a Lien. It requires specific information, including the address and legal description of the property, the name of all owners, a specific description of the work constituting the lien.
It must be sent to the owners of the property within 4 months of the last day substantial work was performed, via certified mail. The lien cannot be filed until 10 days after service of the Notice of Intent to Claim a Lien is served.
Zlien will meet the deadlines for filing, as long as the information is timely provided to us. We provide reasonable rates for handling the paperwork and the hassle for you. Discounts are available for bulk orders. We can handle Bond or Miller Act claims also. Let Zlien handle your mechanics lien and continue to do what you do best, practice your trade.
Colorado Mechanic’s Lien Frequently Asked Questions
How To File A Mechanic’s Lien In Colorado?
Filing a mechanic’s lien in Colorado is a technical process. The filed mechanic’s lien must contain certain information mandated by Colorado statutes, including proof that you properly and timely delivered a Notice of Intent to Lien. The mechanic’s lien must identify the property owner as per public property records, and the property where work was performed with a legal property description. Once prepared, you must file the document in the county where the property is located, and must serve the property owner with the lien. Zlien makes the process of filing a mechanic’s lien in Colorado easy. You simply fill out our order form, and then sit back. Our staff does everything else.
What Is The Deadline To File A Mechanic’s Lien In Colorado?
The timing to file a mechanic’s lien in Colorado can be a bit tricky. In general, project participants have 4 months from last furnishing labor or material on the construction project to file a Colorado mechanic’s lien. There is an exception for laborers, however. Those who perform only labor have an entirely different lien period, requiring filing within 2 months from the completion of the entire project. There is also a special rule for one and two family homes in Colorado. While lien claimants on these properties have the full 4 months to file a lien (except laborers), filing a lien within 2 months from last furnishing provides the maximum lien protection. If the property is sold to a third party, the mechanics lien will only be effective against the new owner if filed within the 2 month, and not the 4 month, period. Learn more in this blog post: How Long Do I Have To File A Mechanic’s Lien In Colorado? 2 Months or 4 Months?
If Notice Required To File A Mechanic’s Lien in Colorado?
Yes. Unlike many states, Colorado does not require any preliminary notices to file a mechanic’s lien. However, it does require you send a Notice of Intent to Lien at least 10 days before filing your mechanic’s lien claim. It’s important to remember that the sending of this notice will not extent the mechanic’s lien filing period, so you must plan ahead. You must make sure you send the notice of intent to lien at least 10 days before the lien is actually due.
Why Choose Zlien to File Your California Mechanic’s Lien?
You can trust Zlien with your Colorado mechanic’s lien claim. Zlien is the leader in the industry in filing mechanics lien and notices of intent to lien in Colorado and across the nation. Our company has developed and uses proprietary software that ensures your lien forms are prepared in accordance with statutory requirements. Further, Zlien has strict privacy policies, strong online security procedures and carriers errors and omissions insurance to protect its clients. Zlien protects its customers with a service satisfaction guarantee and by carrying errors and omissions insurance. All of this is backed up by a 100% service satisfaction guarantee.
How Long Will It Take To Process My Zlien Order?
Mechanic’s lien orders are usually processed by Zlien within 2-4 business days. We offer a rush service for $95, which will guarantee processing within 1 business day. Most Colorado counties accept e-recording of mechanic lien claims, and Zlien is an authorized e-recorder filer in these Colorado counties. When a lien can be e-recorded, the lien is filed immediately after processing. When a county does not accept e-recorded liens, the mechanic’s lien is recorded in Colorado following our processing, either by direct delivery to the recorder or by courier (depending on the county). Property owners are served with the mechanic’s lien immediately during the order process.
Colorado Legal Updates
- August 1st 2013
Pay If Paid and Pay When Paid: Colorado
- July 22nd 2013
Colorado Mechanics Lien Rights When Materials Specially Fabricated
- June 24th 2013
Colorado Mechanics Lien Law: 5 Things to Know
- May 22nd 2013
Mechanics Liens: Mechanics Liens and … Criminal Law?
- April 14th 2013
Colorado Mechanics Lien Law: Court Rules on Exaggerated Lien Case