Mechanics Lien, Bond Claim, Notice and Lien Waiver Forms.
Stop Notice FormDownload
If unpaid on a public construction project in the state of California, parties may file a "Stop Notice." This document informs the property owner / public entity, and the surety, that payment has not been made to a subcontractor or supplier. By law, the parties at the top of the contracting chain must withhold money owed to the general contractor sufficient to satisfy the claim set forth in the stop notice.
Release of Stop Notice FormDownload
After being paid, a claimant may deliver and file a Release of the Stop Notice to cancel its stop notice request.
Release of Mechanics Lien FormDownload
Private and Public construction liens and statements must be canceled once payment has been received, once they have expired, or for any other applicable reasons. Lien cancellations are certificates filed with the recorder to cancel the previously filed instruments. Click the button to download a free California mechanics lien release form PDF.
Notice of Intent to Lien FormDownload
While typically not required in California, a party may send any other party a “notice” that they intend to lien a project if payment is not received. This California Notice of Intent to Lien form advises the party that a lien will be filed if payment is not received within 10 days. The filing of this document does not “suspend” the liening period.
Notice of Non-Responsibility FormDownload
In California, if work is being done on property at the direction of someone other than the owner (i.e., a tenant), the owner can avoid liability from any claims of liens by filing a “Notice of Nonresponsibility” as per Cal Civ Code art 3094. The notice must be filed and posted in some conspicuous place on the site within a 10-day period after the property owner obtains knowledge of the work on the improvement. Click the button to download a free California Notice of Non-Responsibility form.
20 Day Preliminary NoticeDownload
In order to preserve their right to file a mechanics lien, contractors, material suppliers and design professionals working in California must send preliminary notice (also known in California as a 20 Day Preliminary Notice). The notice must be sent within 20 days of first providing work or materials to a construction or renovation project. If you are past the 20 day period, you can still send notice, but it will only preserve lien rights for the work or materials delivered after the notice is served, and for the 20 days preceding the service of the notice.
Notice of Completion FormDownload
At the conclusion of work, or when work has been abandoned or suspended, the owner can file a Notice of Cessation or Notice of Completion with the county recorder. This acts to start the lien period, and conclude it more quickly than allowed by projects without such notices filed. If a Notice of Cessation or Completion is filed, the lien period is reduced from 90 days from completion of work to 60 days for prime contractors, and 30 days for subcontractors (from date of notice). Click the button to download the California notice of completion form.
Notice of Credit Form (Lien Extension)Download
Liens expire 90-days after filing in California. If a party is promising to pay your claim, but just not soon enough to prevent the lien from expiring, a Notice of Credit may help. This filing extends the time period to enforce a Lien for 180 days from the date of filing. An additional Notice of Credit can be filed even at the expiration of this period, except that it may never extend the time period more than 1 year past the actual completion of the project. Notices of Credit must be signed by the Owner and the Claimant.
Claim of Mechanics Lien FormDownload
The construction or mechanics lien, known in California as a Claim of Lien, is filed on private construction jobs by anyone who has performed labor or provided materials to a jobsite, and have not been paid. If a Notice of Cessation or Notice of Completion has been filed by the property owner, prime contractors must file the Lien within 60 days from the filing of the notice, and all others have 30 days to file. If a Notice of Cessation or Completion is not filed, all parties have 90 days from completion of the improvement’s work to file the lien. An action to enforce a lien must be filed within 90 days from the date your lien is filed. Click the button to download a free California mechanics lien form PDF template.