This guide provides a guide to the mechanics lien laws in Oregon, helping you understand the notice requirements and mechanics lien deadlines in the state.
Preliminary Notice Required Quickly in Oregon
Oregon can claim an unfortunate distinction for subcontractors and suppliers furnishing labor or materials in the state: it has a very, very short preliminary notice period. Anyone furnishing labor or materials to the project who did not conctract directly with the property owner must deliver a preliminary notice within just 8 days of first furnishing. That’s fast!
The notice must be served on both the property owner and the lender (if any) by certified mail. The failure to deliver this notice will result in the loss of mechanics lien rights.
Those who contract directly with the property owner need not be concerned with the 8-day preliminary notice requirement. However, if they are working on a residential project, they must furnish an “Information Notice to Owner” at the time of contracting.
Deadlines for Filing An Oregon Mechanics Lien
If you’re unpaid for the services, labor or materials you furnished to an Oregon project, and you fulfilled the preliminary notice requirement, you can file an Oregon mechanics lien. You’re next step is to figure out when the filing deadline is, and get your mechanics lien filed before that period.
The timing requirements to file an Oregon mechanics lien is quite simple, and is the same for everyone working on a private construction project: The mechanics lien must be filed within 75 days of your last furnishing to the project.
For frequently asked questions and more specific legal information about Oregon’s mechanics lien laws, check out Zlien’s resource section for Oregon.