Over the past two weeks, the lien laws changed in Mississippi and Alaska, and the LienPilot database has been updated to ensure your preliminary notice and mechanic lien deadlines are properly calculated.
In Mississippi, the law changed so that rental companies can lien for rented equipment. Accordingly, all of our deadlines for the state were changed to accommodate “Equipment Lessors.”
In Alaska, the lien law changed so that claimants have 120-days from last furnishing labor and/or materials to file a lien. This is an increase in time from the previous 90-day period. The database has been changed to properly calculate this period.